Replacement alternator

Moderators: scimjim, Roger Pennington, philhoward, Lukeyboy46, erikscimitardemon

Post Reply
5eon
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 12:05 pm

Replacement alternator

Post by 5eon » Sun Aug 23, 2020 2:10 pm

I'm upgrading my alternator, I was going for a 65Amp but I've seen a 75Amp at the same price, would this be overkill or present any problems?



gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 3136
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales

Replacement alternator

Post by gtcse8 » Sun Aug 23, 2020 2:14 pm

Not at all.
I fit alternators that are also from Canal Barges with up to 90A.
They have an extra battery take off fitted and this supplies 14v at tickover, so I just wire it direct to the battery and it keeps the power up even at idle speeds.

Last set I bought were less than £60 each.


Mark Wilson. Garage sale everything must go. :cry:1 SE6b, 1 GTC Shell &1 SE6a shell & a Triumph Daytona. Also on YouTube :wink: lookup V8 Chevy https://youtu.be/lbpvDGAMY6g https://youtu.be/7xTrbr0ETSA https://youtu.be/K7HfYVd5Flo

willholderogri
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1279
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:47 pm
Location: chippenham

Replacement alternator

Post by willholderogri » Sun Aug 23, 2020 2:25 pm

I had a 100 amp on mine


1962 mini, bedford CA , KR200. morris 1000, mini pickup.several escorts,ford grandad.ford cortina X2 ,astra, SE5A x 2 ,ford focus.

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 27708
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Contact:

Replacement alternator

Post by philhoward » Sun Aug 23, 2020 2:42 pm

None of those mentioned are safe on standard wiring (as eluded to by Mark) - nothing a good sized cable direct to the battery can’t fix.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
SS1 Racer
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

5eon
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 12:05 pm

Replacement alternator

Post by 5eon » Sun Aug 23, 2020 3:44 pm

If I were to replace the brown cables with one new one what size cable would I need Phil? I was going to double up on the brown cables, I have a spare loom, but one new cable might be better.



User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 27708
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Contact:

Replacement alternator

Post by philhoward » Sun Aug 23, 2020 4:27 pm

Double of the existing size is fine.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
SS1 Racer
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
Terry Rickard
RSSOC Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: Bristol

Replacement alternator

Post by Terry Rickard » Sun Aug 23, 2020 4:36 pm

Fitting of type A127 alternator has been discussed before on here.
See http://www.scimitarweb.co.uk/sgwrs/view ... or#p497282 about replacement alternator and an extra lead (thick wire) from the threaded post to the battery.
Photo of it here: http://www.scimitarweb.co.uk/sgwrs/view ... or#p499499



User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 10676
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Contact:

Replacement alternator

Post by peter freeman » Sun Aug 23, 2020 5:32 pm

Fitting a alternator that can give you say 75 amps does not mean it will always give 75amps it will only give what is demanded by the load the car presents. The original alternator was 35 amps which for most of the time was ok but in the winter with the heater, lights, HRW, and perhaps when in traffic the rad fan also on it was a real struggle for the 35 amp alternator so current was also drawn from the battery. The first higher power alternator to be available was a 55amp unit and in fact this is what is fitted to my Coupe and it copes with all situations nicely thank you. Then more powerful alternators came along as later cars have more electrical demand - brighter lights for example but if you have fitted some LEDs this is to an extent negated. My MB has as standard a 90amp alternator fitted but demand I think will be no where near that even in mid winter. I'm with Phil fitting a double size wire or the same size in parallel with the current wire between the alternator and battery terminal will be ok.



gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 3136
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales

Replacement alternator

Post by gtcse8 » Sun Aug 23, 2020 5:43 pm

5eon wrote:
Sun Aug 23, 2020 3:44 pm
If I were to replace the brown cables with one new one what size cable would I need Phil? I was going to double up on the brown cables, I have a spare loom, but one new cable might be better.
Depending upon the connectors fitted to the new alternator there should be No need to replace any wires, as Peter pints out the alternator will only supply what is needed.
But you will deffo benefit from a larger wire direct to the battery IF the "B+" terminal is fitted.


Mark Wilson. Garage sale everything must go. :cry:1 SE6b, 1 GTC Shell &1 SE6a shell & a Triumph Daytona. Also on YouTube :wink: lookup V8 Chevy https://youtu.be/lbpvDGAMY6g https://youtu.be/7xTrbr0ETSA https://youtu.be/K7HfYVd5Flo

Post Reply

Return to “Se6/6a/6b/GTC”