Am I inhibited ?

Discuss and exchange views and technical information about our cars.

Moderators: scimjim, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, philhoward, Lukeyboy46

gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Am I inhibited ?

Post by gtcse8 » Sat Nov 23, 2019 8:38 pm

Korporal brunhausen wrote:
Sat Nov 23, 2019 8:08 pm
My tail gate struts are useless, can anyone tell me the standard fit pl?
Reliant.
Korporal brunhausen wrote:
Sat Nov 23, 2019 8:08 pm
how I need to number the valves for the adjustment
From the front looking into the engine bay, number one is left, under the alternator, going backwards to #'12 then #13 on the front right bank.

I might have a used inhibitor switch on a dead gearbox, but a quick google will bring up new ones for £30.


Mark Wilson. See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Three Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s,1 & 1/2 GTC`s & not a lot of sense
EX SST 1800Ti

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 25665
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 677 times
Contact:

Am I inhibited ?

Post by philhoward » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:41 pm

I think you’re counting double, Mark :mrgreen:

#1 under the alternator, #6 closest to the driver (assuming RHD), #7 closest to the fuel pump and #12 up the far corner.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Am I inhibited ?

Post by gtcse8 » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:45 pm

Ooops
Been a long day, just got back from Nooocastle.


Mark Wilson. See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Three Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s,1 & 1/2 GTC`s & not a lot of sense
EX SST 1800Ti

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 25665
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 677 times
Contact:

Am I inhibited ?

Post by philhoward » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:48 pm

Excused 8)

Do you still need a passport going that far north, or are you ok being Yorkshire stock?


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Am I inhibited ?

Post by gtcse8 » Sat Nov 23, 2019 9:59 pm

Sneaked past the "Angel" because it was issing it down and foggy.
I think I would have got away with the passport as brexit will never happen due to the kock up with the ossers that were elected to do the right thing that was voted for :w


Mark Wilson. See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Three Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s,1 & 1/2 GTC`s & not a lot of sense
EX SST 1800Ti

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 25665
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 677 times
Contact:

Am I inhibited ?

Post by philhoward » Sat Nov 23, 2019 10:02 pm

Before any more debate, there’s no politics on this forum..causes too many arguments that will never be settled.

Well done for sneaking past the Angel though :)


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

Korporal brunhausen
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:31 pm

Am I inhibited ?

Post by Korporal brunhausen » Mon Jan 06, 2020 6:26 pm

New year's greetings to all scimarititarians, ahead of you is another year of Reliant Related (w)Ranglings.

I'm the one who is still looking for a neutral safety switch for my Ford C3 autobox. I found one today with 4 pins whereas mine has 3, and as there are references to both of these being in use, what would I need to do to fit one with the 4 pins? I see that the 3 pin wire/connecter is unobtainable now.
I'm wondering if anyone has the name of a supplier who might be able to do so. Auto parts has been mentioned in the past etc

I was talking to a bloke today about this, and he said the C3 box was also on the Granada mk1 and 2 Capri mk1 to 2 and the Cortina Mks 3to5. Also the Escort and Fiesta CVT ( not the Readers Wives version though).
Food for thought !



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 38433
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 1038 times

Am I inhibited ?

Post by scimjim » Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:36 pm

I think the early mk1 granada, mk1 Capri, and maybe even the mk1 escort used the BW35, then changed to the C3 (which even the Sierra had originally) - the CVT is a totally different box though.

If the 4 pin switch physically fits, it should be fairly easy to figure out the wiring?


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Am I inhibited ?

Post by gtcse8 » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:59 pm

I have a NOS Reliant wiring loom for a Scimitar. 3 pin type. :idea:

But as you already have a Scimitar you must only need the switch??. :roll:

Jim the 4 pin switch may or may not screw into the Scim C3 box, IF it did then the Reliant/Ford 3 pin plug would not fit the 4 pin unit.
And why did the Ford later gearbox change to 4 pin?. :w

Got an empty Ford box here so I must have used/sold the switch.
Last edited by gtcse8 on Tue Jan 07, 2020 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.


Mark Wilson. See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Three Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s,1 & 1/2 GTC`s & not a lot of sense
EX SST 1800Ti

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 38433
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 1038 times

Am I inhibited ?

Post by scimjim » Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:05 pm

gtcse8 wrote:
Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:59 pm
Jim the 4 pin switch may or may not screw into the Scim C3 box, IF it did then the Reliant/Ford 3 pin plug would not fit the 4 pin unit.
as I said, it wouldn't be difficult to make something up though?


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Post Reply

Return to “General Technical Discussion”