Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Discuss and exchange views and technical information about our cars.

Moderators: scimjim, Lukeyboy46, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, philhoward

Post Reply
Jpwill7675
RSSOC Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Dorchester, Dorset
Has thanked: 47 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Jpwill7675 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:38 pm

Hi - sorry if this is a daft question. My new acquisition has a noisy head. I checked the tappets which were ok. I did a compression check and one cylinder was very low. I took the heads off to reveal a loose valve seat. The head and the piston are coked up a bit but don't look damaged. However, there seems to be more play on the piston of the affected cylinder than the others. I guess it could be broken rings or at worst damage to the big end bearings?

Is it a big job to get the cylinder block off in situ or would i be better off taking the engine out of the chassis? The car is a rolling project so time is not an issue

Thanks for any advice.

Regards, Jim

PS . The engine was overhauled in 2001 with 20 thou rebore, mild road cam (might explain why the valve clearance seemed tight :oops: ) and unleaded valve seats. Its only done 13,000 miles since then
Attachments
IMG_3026.JPG
IMG_3026.JPG (399.01 KiB) Viewed 736 times
fullsizeoutput_811.jpeg
fullsizeoutput_811.jpeg (275.44 KiB) Viewed 736 times


SE5a Rolling restoration, Discovery daily driver, Triumph Tiger 800 fun, Cannondale Synapse fitness

rebel alliance
Posts: 806
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by rebel alliance » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:56 pm

If you remove the sump and undo the big end bearing cap , i don't see why you couldn't take the piston out the top..



Oldconn
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1611
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 1:09 pm
Location: Haute-Saône,France
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 88 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Oldconn » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:09 pm

It should be possible. After all, one would normally replace the pistons from the top. My guess is you will find a sloppy little-end -been there ! :D


"When I grow up, I want to be me"
-Kermit Weeks
Current: SE6A; 998 Mini.Previous: Morris Minor,Ford8, Cortinas Mk1 &2,MG Midget 1932,Morgan 3W 1934,Lagonda Rapier,Honda S800, Austin Maxi,Citroen GSA, Riley ElfMk2,Peugeot 505,Rover 420 SDI

efi_sprintgte
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1246
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Sutton, Surrey
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by efi_sprintgte » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:13 pm

I’ve done it a few times, not normally through choice I might add

I tend to do that in situe at the “let’s asses what we’ve got here stage”


JC

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 37262
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 937 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by scimjim » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:39 pm

I’d pull the block and do the core plugs if they’re 17 years old and been sat a while? You can do things in situ but unless you have a lift, you’re going to spend half the time on your back under the car - in the long run it’s always easier to do things on the bench.


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Jpwill7675
RSSOC Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Dorchester, Dorset
Has thanked: 47 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Jpwill7675 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:09 pm

Thanks Jim. I think I will take the whole engine out to get a good look at what I have. I can also check out the timing gear wheel. Are the core plugs an easy job ?


SE5a Rolling restoration, Discovery daily driver, Triumph Tiger 800 fun, Cannondale Synapse fitness

Jpwill7675
RSSOC Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Dorchester, Dorset
Has thanked: 47 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Jpwill7675 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:09 pm

Thanks for all the suggestions


SE5a Rolling restoration, Discovery daily driver, Triumph Tiger 800 fun, Cannondale Synapse fitness

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 37262
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 937 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by scimjim » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:10 pm

Core plugs are easy but the rear ones are inside the bellhousing and the front ones are behind the timing cover backplate.


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Post Reply

Return to “General Technical Discussion”