GTE Pedal Boxes

Discuss and exchange views and technical information about our cars.

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, Lukeyboy46, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington

User avatar
MikeyBikey
Posts: 5800
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:55 pm
Location: Sunny Falmouth. :)
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 113 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by MikeyBikey » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:06 pm

I currently have the 5a pedal box with remote servo.

I want to upgrade to a servo attached to the bulkhead aka modern machinery.

However the accelerator cable on my pedal box will foul any bulkhead servo as the cable comes out of the bulkhead between accelerator andclutch master cylinders

so which GTE model solved this and how


Is we sideways yet...

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 37459
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 951 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by scimjim » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:22 pm

None off the shelf - however, an SS1 pedal box may work?


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
MikeyBikey
Posts: 5800
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:55 pm
Location: Sunny Falmouth. :)
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 113 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by MikeyBikey » Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:55 pm

ok, as ever thanks Jim :D


Is we sideways yet...

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 24912
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 599 times
Contact:

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by philhoward » Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:01 pm

Chris (Dark Star) fitted an SS1 pedal box to his Coupe bit that was to get a cable clutch. You can fit a hydraulic master cylinder to that pedal box (albeit backwards) - Craig’s Sabre has it. I did a mock-up and it’s feasible if using one from a Transit Connect (cheapest I found as it was a mock-up)

SE6 (not 6a) pedal box was fitted to Andrew Collins’ Coupe but it was “a struggle” apparently.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

AndyKing
RSSOC Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:42 am
Location: Essex
Has thanked: 9 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by AndyKing » Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:24 pm

I've managed to fit a SE6a pedal box to my SE5, but it wasn't easy.

The pedal box needed a bit of modification and it's difficult getting enough clearance to the steering column. As you can see in the photos, the bulkhead needed major surgery. I can't say I'd recommend it unless you are feeling very determined.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (254.23 KiB) Viewed 1165 times
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (234.48 KiB) Viewed 1165 times



roymck
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1095
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Dorking Surrey
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 24 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by roymck » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:23 pm

Nice bit of glass work there .



User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19912
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 137 times
Been thanked: 509 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by Roger Pennington » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:25 pm

Unless I'm missing something about Mike's requirement, I would have thought the 6-series pedal box was the obvious solution? (assuming that it's not too large to fit in the footwell?). Presumably Andy's bulkhead mods are as much a result of the size and new position of the servo, as the pedal box itself, and are always going to be a challenge if you go that way? But it will enable you to convert to dual-circuit brakes?


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 37459
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 951 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by scimjim » Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:35 pm

Roger Pennington wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:25 pm
assuming that it's not too large to fit in the footwell?
that’s the problem :D


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19912
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 137 times
Been thanked: 509 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by Roger Pennington » Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:09 am

Ah! I was assuming that as you'd suggested an SS1as a possible, then an Se6a ought to have a fighting chance, as my impression has always been that the SS1 pedals are more widely-spaced than the Se6a's (though the SS1 lacks space to rest your foot left of the clutch).

Any integral-servo option is presumably going to need changes on the engine side of the bulkhead, because of the way the servo is positioned (IIRC didn't Chris use a waste-paper bin to mould it on Dark Star?). I may be wrong, but I'm guessing Mike's objective is to get dual-circuit brakes? In that case, presumably this is pointing towards a dual circuit remote servo as a better option?


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 24912
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 599 times
Contact:

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by philhoward » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:56 am

This is Mikey logic - there may be a totally sensible reason why but then again this could be a sledgehammer and nut situation with a bit of bonkers thrown in for good measure. Remember this is the same guy who decides only a few days before Curborough to rip out his whole wiring loom and redesign it from scratch despite (by admission) being somewhat confused by electrics :mrgreen: :w 8)


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19912
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 137 times
Been thanked: 509 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by Roger Pennington » Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:39 am

Yes, that's true..... :P


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
MikeyBikey
Posts: 5800
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:55 pm
Location: Sunny Falmouth. :)
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 113 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by MikeyBikey » Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:47 pm

philhoward wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:56 am
This is Mikey logic - there may be a totally sensible reason why but then again this could be a sledgehammer and nut situation with a bit of bonkers thrown in for good measure. Remember this is the same guy who decides only a few days before Curborough to rip out his whole wiring loom and redesign it from scratch despite (by admission) being somewhat confused by electrics :mrgreen: :w 8)
:lol: :lol:

And the night before curbs drop the box and change the clutch.....

although that was necessity

cheers all. the ask was brought about with the scimega conversion that as almost complete. I'm a tad aware with potentially 220 - 250 bhp I might need a servo , because at the moment i dont....


Is we sideways yet...

User avatar
Coupe Racing
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7301
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Nr Telford - Shropshire
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 90 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by Coupe Racing » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:15 pm

I never used one with similar power
Better feel


Blessed are the Cheese makers

Better to be an hour early than 1 minute late

User avatar
MikeyBikey
Posts: 5800
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:55 pm
Location: Sunny Falmouth. :)
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 113 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by MikeyBikey » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:33 pm

Agreed but this will be my regular daily and I'm just thinking I might actually need to start braking....

I'm running fords at the mo and I must admit their brakes are good. Very well balanced. My wife runs vauxhalls and their brakes are horrific. Far too strong.


Is we sideways yet...

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 24912
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 599 times
Contact:

GTE Pedal Boxes

Post by philhoward » Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:43 pm

So what’s wrong with the original type servo? Even if you go dual circuit, you can get remote dual circuit servos..


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

Post Reply

Return to “General Technical Discussion”