BIOS sorted

Having problems with RSS? Outlook? Windows?

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46, Terry Rickard

Post Reply
User avatar
Coupe Racing
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7028
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Nr Telford - Shropshire
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 80 times

BIOS sorted

Post by Coupe Racing » Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:07 pm

Well - I just cant get into my BIOS

The manual says F2 on start up , and that used to work
Now it doesnt :shock:

I need access to set the boot order so I can run Windows 7 from the DVD and install onto a newly formatted small hard drive.
( I was going to run 2 operating systems on the same machine , and choose which hard drive I wanted at boot up - long story as to why )

So this problem came about as a result of me installing a spare hard drive into my good machine , then booting my pc with Windows XP on my 500GB hard drive as a master , and a spare 60GB that was set to a slave in the same machine.
Whilst in this state , I formatted the small hard drive and now my BIOS is inaccessible

I have visited the motherboard website , and found the original BIOS file , and loaded it per their instructions , but every time I boot up - F2 fails and XP goes ahead and loads regardless off of the large drive ( the small drive is not fitted anymore - it was only temporary )

Any help would be apprciated please !
Last edited by Coupe Racing on Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Blessed are the Cheese makers

Better to be an hour early than 1 minute late

ScimmyMike
RSSOC Member
Posts: 4918
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:12 pm
Location: Hyde, Cheshire
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: BIOS

Post by ScimmyMike » Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:28 pm

Steve, what pc model is it, sometimes you can hit a key and alter boot order as a one off rather than going through BIOS to change then again to change back


SE4c rebuilding. SE5a similar it seems!
SAAB C900 2 door
Scimitar SE4 SE4c SE5 SE6b Austin A35

High Peak Noggin Secretary & general dogsbody

www.high peak noggin

If you can see the tree before you hit it that's understeer
if you only feel the tree as you hit it that's oversteer

User avatar
Coupe Racing
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7028
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Nr Telford - Shropshire
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: BIOS

Post by Coupe Racing » Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:34 pm

Sorted

Plugged the USB keyboard into a port on the mother board and not the extra port on a PCI card


Blessed are the Cheese makers

Better to be an hour early than 1 minute late

Terry H
RSSOC Member
Posts: 2086
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:02 pm
Location: Newport Gwent
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: BIOS sorted

Post by Terry H » Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:41 pm

Press and hold the delete key on start up.
Regards Terry H
1185



User avatar
td99
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1670
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: BIOS sorted

Post by td99 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 7:00 pm

If you want to have an easy choice of booting from disk 1 or disk 2 etc, look at Easy BCD (its free!)
And its companion iReboot enables you to click on menu in system 1 and it reboots to system 2 and vice versa.

Can also set default system to boot if no choice made after user-definable time, eg 5 secs.
No need to enter BIOS to set boot disk!
Marvelous bit of kit!


Trevor - 1800Ti daily driver
1800Ti DET project, RAV4

User avatar
Coupe Racing
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7028
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 10:51 pm
Location: Nr Telford - Shropshire
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: BIOS sorted - Boot help required

Post by Coupe Racing » Sun Jan 08, 2017 3:42 pm

I tried the software - but iReboot just keeps booting into XP , and I dont understand EasyBCD at all

I have attached a picture , but dont know what to do.

I just want an option at start up to choose between HHD

Any ideas please
Attachments
Picture1.jpg
Picture1.jpg (26.63 KiB) Viewed 1560 times


Blessed are the Cheese makers

Better to be an hour early than 1 minute late

User avatar
td99
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1670
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: BIOS sorted

Post by td99 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:11 pm

Does the EasyBCD menu work? ie, do you get a menu with two options at start-up?

if so, can you boot into both XP and W7?
(Bit surprised at the bootloader path for win 7, but if it works ok).

if not open easybcd and edit boot menu
check that "Skip boot menu" is not selected.
Ebcd.jpg
Ebcd.jpg (73.28 KiB) Viewed 1545 times
If you can boot to either system from EasyBCD menu, then when you are in XP, open the iReboot icon and change the selection there to Win 7 and all should work OK.
ireboot is not essential, just handy!

Hope that helps.


Trevor - 1800Ti daily driver
1800Ti DET project, RAV4

Post Reply

Return to “Computer Problems and Solutions”