Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Have you documented a Scimitar related procedure and would like to share it with others? Pictures are most welcome!
Threads will be locked once posted, so any further questions in the specific forum, please.

Moderators: scimjim, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46, philhoward, erikscimitardemon

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7263
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 187 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:11 pm

I think that to improve the top mounts, they could be strapped diagonally to pick up the rear body mounts, as I have done with the reel mounting. I assume that would require lumps to be carved out of the body to allow access, so maybe worth doing as part of a body refurbishment.

I want to have some trim panels to cover the hole. I am sure I have seen something suitable, but can't think what it is!


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 33369
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 642 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by scimjim » Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:21 pm



Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
TeeinChina
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 5:31 am
Location: Shrewsbury Shropshire
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by TeeinChina » Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:56 am

Doesn't Nigel at QRG sell inertia reel rear belts? maybe he can enlighten how they fit them.


I'm not Jesus but I can turn wine into water - but not when sober!

User avatar
expat2000
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:54 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by expat2000 » Mon May 23, 2011 1:11 am

Apologies for the thread from the dead revival but need to fit three point inertia reel belts in the back of my Se6A and got some good pointers from here. Did have an idea for an alternative though.

My 96 Rover 200 has three 3 point belts on the back seat and the middle one is mounted on the seat back rather than too any part of the car chassis. Its a very neat installation and I was wondering if a similar method could be used on my scimitar. I haven't had it long so don't know what the seat backs are made of and if the would stand the forces in a crash or not, advice would be most welcome.

Also do the rear seats latch into place at all, I only just got the back of my car empty of all the spares that came with and the seats seemed to just rest back into position, am i missing something?

Thanks from a fresh newbie

Stuart


Living in Oslo without my 1977 SE6A GTE, car was successfully imported and registered then sold as couldn't afford to run it. Now driving a 1998 Audi A4 Estate diesel.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 33369
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 642 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by scimjim » Mon May 23, 2011 8:21 am

unless it's a late 6a the seat backs won't latch back.
I wouldn't put an inertia reel onto a late 6a with a seat that latches back anyway as I doubt it would take much force to break.
Also - seat belts have to be mounted to the chassis (at all 3 points on a 3 point inertia system) - hence the metal straps on existing Scimitar belts (front female section and both sides of the rear belts).


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7263
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 187 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Mon May 23, 2011 9:30 am

With the load being taken by the chassis at the rear, the seat latch is less important as the whole thing will be held captive until the reel mount or the top eye lets go in an accident. I would agree that a) the seat back is not strong enough and b) It would be next to useless in an accident.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
expat2000
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:54 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by expat2000 » Mon May 23, 2011 10:19 am

OK thanks for the advice, I think I'll just got for the 3 point kit from QRG.

The other option I can think of was to mount the seat belt reel on the seat back as it is on my Rover 200 and then have a metal strap/bar from the mounting to a point on the chassis, probably on the floor near the rear window. I presume that would comply with the mounted to the chassis rule, would also act as a seat back latching mechanism.

Stuart


Living in Oslo without my 1977 SE6A GTE, car was successfully imported and registered then sold as couldn't afford to run it. Now driving a 1998 Audi A4 Estate diesel.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 33369
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 642 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by scimjim » Mon May 23, 2011 10:22 am

that would presumably comply - as long as you don't fold your seats flat very often?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
expat2000
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:54 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by expat2000 » Mon May 23, 2011 11:37 am

Judging by the pictures I have seen of the mounting point for the QRG belts I don't think that folding the seats is going to be an option anyway:

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=6319&start=45

Ah well, just have to live with it.

Thanks again

Stuart


Living in Oslo without my 1977 SE6A GTE, car was successfully imported and registered then sold as couldn't afford to run it. Now driving a 1998 Audi A4 Estate diesel.

User avatar
sonofparker
RSSOC Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:32 am
Location: Glasgow
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by sonofparker » Mon May 23, 2011 12:23 pm

To fit the belts where QRG suggest, you need to remove the flappy board things (don't know how else to describe them) from the backs of the seats, then the seats are able to fold normally. The approach I have taken seemed like the best plan to me, but it involves cutting holes in the fibreglass then re-glassing, which is a bit of a pain. It might be possible to get away without cutting the fibreglass, but that area of the boot floor has a strengthening ridge, which I wanted to eliminate from that area so the reels would lie flat. The QRG belts are just standard Securon belts, they don't come with any extra fittings or anything.

Max



User avatar
expat2000
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:54 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by expat2000 » Wed May 25, 2011 6:20 pm

Max

Do you happen to know what the model/part number of the Securon belts are, I think I have it narrowed down to either 264, 507/SL22 or 507S/SL22. Just trying to see if I can get them cheaper than QRG.

Cheers

Stuart


Living in Oslo without my 1977 SE6A GTE, car was successfully imported and registered then sold as couldn't afford to run it. Now driving a 1998 Audi A4 Estate diesel.

User avatar
sonofparker
RSSOC Member
Posts: 461
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:32 am
Location: Glasgow
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by sonofparker » Wed May 25, 2011 7:57 pm

The box the belts came in says they are the 264, although according to the Securon website the 264 should have the pillar loop, which these ones do not. They have the adjustable pendulum, so they can be mounted at any angle.

Max

Edit: There might be some other belts that could be used, but on the one I have the webbing that the buckle attaches to is only just long enough, so the 507S/SL22 or similar wouldn't work.



User avatar
expat2000
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:54 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by expat2000 » Thu May 26, 2011 1:36 pm

OK, looks like I'll be going for these then:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-Securon-Seat- ... 3a4cc7ef39

QRG website says £54.08 for a inertia seat belt so half the price seems much better.

Thanks again

Stuart


Living in Oslo without my 1977 SE6A GTE, car was successfully imported and registered then sold as couldn't afford to run it. Now driving a 1998 Audi A4 Estate diesel.

Post Reply

Return to “How To Guides”