Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Have you documented a Scimitar related procedure and would like to share it with others? Pictures are most welcome!
Threads here also contain previous “stickies” from other sections, as a central location for quick reference information.

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:05 pm

I have done the fronts using 500/15 Securon belts. The bracket for the transmission tunnel is not that unsightly, but the supplier sent me some stalks free of charge, so have fitted them. Not sure which I prefer.

Now it comes to the rears. I have fitted the stalks with a right angle bracket and that seems fine. I am aware that the dimple in the rear quarter may, or may not have a captive nut, but I will come to that.

My problem is with the position of the intertia reel. It looks like there is no room for it down the side of the seat squab. I have noticed a couple of circular cutouts in the squab, exposing the foam, so wonder if that is a clue? I know the Middlebridge had them and thought the later 6b did too. Looking at the parts diagrams on Graham Walker's show only lap belts in the rear.

Any wisdom please?


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
turbster
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1759
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Has thanked: 43 times
Been thanked: 39 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by turbster » Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:15 pm

Had 2 Middlebridges and 2 6b's none had inertia rears, just lap belts.... Must have been retro fitted in the one you've seen, or an option??

Paul.


2005 RSSOC Sprint and Hillclimb champion
LRP 335E SE4a
XRF 976H SE5
DBY 119M SE5a
Previous: Sabre Six GT, SE4, SE4a, SE4b, SE5, SE5a x 5, SE6a x 2, SE6b x 2, GTC, Middlebridge x 2, SS1 ti, Sabre 1.4k

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:27 pm

Interesting! I am sure I have seen reference to them somewhere. I have got the captive nuts in the rear, so really want to do this mod. Maybe I need to fit them then start carving the seat to allow clearance!


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35647
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 813 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by scimjim » Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:50 pm

never fitted by Reliant as standard but obviously there were plans to. The captive nuts behind the trim aren't secured to the chassis. AFAIK - if there's a dimple, there are captive nuts fitted.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:00 pm

Well of course, if the brain is engaged first, I would realise that the inertia reel goes in the tailgate area. BUT WHERE? No sign of anything below the dimple that the reel might be mounted to. In the cubby holes there is a fibreglass panel, but nothing sunstantial enough.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35647
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 813 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by scimjim » Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:25 pm

is it in line (or near enough) with one of the rear outriggers - or would it be possible to make up some brackets like the outboard lap straps have?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:43 pm

The reel mounting points need to be directly below the dimple in the region of the cubby hole. There is no provision there as Reliant never fitted intertia reel it seems, only static lap and diagonal as an upgrade. So I have two choices, the simplest is to get lap and diagonal statics and sell the new inertia reels, or fabricate an inertia reel mount. To do the latter would also require the rear quarter panel to be slotted to allow the belt to run in line. I am inclined to option 1 due to lack of time, so if anyone would like a pair of brand new Securon in blue (gorgeous with the yellow) then they are available for what I paid. They cost me £42 each. They have the stalk mounts or the L bracket as desired.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:55 pm

Spent all day today working out how to make these mounts. After stripping out all the rear panels, this is the layout.
DSCN3258.JPG
The upper mounting point did exist so that mount allowed me to find the right position for the reel. My first attempt was with a small bracket which is why the three holes. Then I thought about it a bit harder and had a look round my scrap pile. As there was some angle iron, I came up with this.
DSCN3259.JPG
The two bolts were welded in and emerge through a couple of drilled holes near the back. The other end of the bracket is drilled to allow the reel mount and a seperate 5/16 to fasten it to the fibreglass. You will see the two mounting bolts towards the rear of the car in this picture. The reel and bolt are mounted.
DSCN3261.JPG
To finish the job, I need to complete the brackets which will pick up the rear body mounts. I have made them, but they are not very good as I was getting tired and not thinking properly. Two of the four body mount bolts came out but the other two required much brutality to remove. Car is now in workshop waiting for the next session. Brackets need to be cleaned and painted with POR-15 so it will be a few days before it hits the road again. I have yet to work out how I am going to fit the side quarter mouldings over the reels.
Last edited by AJL Electronics on Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:57 pm

Well that's the wrong picture of course! That one shows the pre-welding arrangement of bolts. Here is the right one:
DSCN3260.JPG


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:25 am

That takes care of the rear mountings, now I need to make something to triangulate the vertical load. I have ideas about using studding down through the cubby hole floor and then braced there. I know that in an accident there will be enormous loads, but I would expect the captive nut to fail before my reel mounting point.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:31 am

Rear bracketry installed offside....
DSCN3262.JPG
The brackets loose...
DSCN3263.JPG

And assembled loosely to show orientation....
DSCN3264.JPG


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
Corky
RSSOC Member
Posts: 10565
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:02 am
Location: Macclesfield
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by Corky » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:06 pm

Just read your post through. Some great work !

Just a few bits from my own experiences. Securon 500/30 have a long flexible stalk and are the best fitment for the 6 series cars up front, the 500/15 is exactly the same seatbelt but it has a solid stalk with side mounting, ideal for the 5 series cars. The rear lap belts iirc from securon are simply called 300. They have a web mounted stalk/receiver. My own plan was to use this webbed stalk with the reels from a set of 15's or 30's for fitment in the rear of my GTC, the only problem is that they have to be mounted on a vertical plane which may be difficult with the differences at the rear of the GTC. Securon also do a reel that can be mounted at all angles (214 I think).

Another thing you may be interested in is the rear wing mount that you found behind the rear panel, it is simply a piece of steel bonded into the grp, I'm not convinced it would be much use in an accident and may be the reason Reliant never used it.. Sorry if this isn't what you wanted to hear. But keep up the good work this is a really interesting post.


Steve
Current:- SS1 Ti RG sprint car. VW Touareg 3.0 V6
Prev:- Sabre Ti, 3xSS1 Ti, SS1 16v Turbo Racer, 5XGTC, 2XSE6B, 2XSE5A, 2XV6 Coupe, Sabre 6
Project Threads & YouTube

“It's not the winning, it's the taking apart that counts"

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7421
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by AJL Electronics » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:13 pm

In the Reliant workshop manual it points out that later cars and ALL LHD were fitted with 3 point belts. I misread it as inertia reel. Anyway, it seems to be progressing.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
Corky
RSSOC Member
Posts: 10565
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:02 am
Location: Macclesfield
Has thanked: 123 times
Been thanked: 135 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by Corky » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:20 pm

There is a photo somewhere on this forum of the plate viewed from the outside of the car with the rear wing cut out. It's well worth hunting down and having a look at. Iirc someone was cutting up a scrap 6b and it was on a seatbelt related thread.


Steve
Current:- SS1 Ti RG sprint car. VW Touareg 3.0 V6
Prev:- Sabre Ti, 3xSS1 Ti, SS1 16v Turbo Racer, 5XGTC, 2XSE6B, 2XSE5A, 2XV6 Coupe, Sabre 6
Project Threads & YouTube

“It's not the winning, it's the taking apart that counts"

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35647
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 813 times

Re: Upgrading lap belts to inertia reel SE6a

Post by scimjim » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:22 pm

can any owners confirm that fixed rear diagonal belts were actually ever fitted? I've never seen any but my 6b experience is limited.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Post Reply

Return to “How To Guides/FAQs”