GTC Hazard Switch

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

Post Reply
Andreas H.
RSSOC Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:14 pm
Location: Germany

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by Andreas H. » Sat Sep 29, 2018 6:56 am

Hello!

from wich 'Donor Car' is the hazard switch in the SE6A, GTC, etc.?

Andreas



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35817
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 817 times

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by scimjim » Sat Sep 29, 2018 8:30 am

TR7 and possibly other BL cars of the era.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7447
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 206 times
Contact:

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Sep 29, 2018 9:02 am

With reservations! TR7 etc do not have the legend window.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9410
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 319 times
Contact:

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by peter freeman » Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:24 am

They can be taken apart and the contacts cleaned - which is probably all that is needed given the amount of use the switch gets.



gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 76 times

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by gtcse8 » Sat Sep 29, 2018 7:21 pm

Chuck it into an ultrasonic cleaner for 20min, allow to dryout and bobs your relative??


See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Se5,Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s, GTC, SST 1800Ti & not a lot of sense

Andreas H.
RSSOC Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 8:14 pm
Location: Germany

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by Andreas H. » Sun Nov 04, 2018 9:26 am

Hello folks,

thank you for the informations and considerations. Sadly my problem is maybe a bit unsual, as the housing of the switch is broken. I unsuccessfully tried to find a new item. The only available switches seem to be the light-switch. Do you know a possible supplier? Or maybe someone has a good used, or even a new, switch for sale?

I'm at the NEC on Saturday...

Cheers,
Andreas



gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 76 times

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by gtcse8 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:50 pm

Andreas what part of the housing is broken, perhaps a picture would be better.?

I keep NEW housings in stock, plus I have a few of the Chrome housings that the switches clip into??.

Regards Mark


See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Se5,Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s, GTC, SST 1800Ti & not a lot of sense

TrevorG
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:09 am
Location: Thomas chapel in Pembrokeshire
Been thanked: 7 times

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by TrevorG » Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:59 pm

If your switch is faulty you can buy a new one without the window, carefully unclip the outer shells and swap over. I've just done this for my 6a light switch. Hey presto, new contacts and backlit.



gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 76 times

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by gtcse8 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:36 pm

Trevor pm inbound
Mark


See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Se5,Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s, GTC, SST 1800Ti & not a lot of sense

Djangoz
RSSOC Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:04 pm
Location: Cornwall
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by Djangoz » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:22 pm

gtcse8 wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:50 pm
Andreas what part of the housing is broken, perhaps a picture would be better.?

I keep NEW housings in stock, plus I have a few of the Chrome housings that the switches clip into??.

Regards Mark
Hi Mark,
I would be interested in getting hold of one of the chrome surrounds which go around pairs of switches. I think they would be the same as those on the Middlebridge wouldn't they?
Cheers
Andrew


Andrew
MB60

gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 76 times

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by gtcse8 » Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:10 pm

Hi Andrew
They should be the same, will check on MB 42 this afternoon and get back to you.
Mark


See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Se5,Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s, GTC, SST 1800Ti & not a lot of sense

Djangoz
RSSOC Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:04 pm
Location: Cornwall
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by Djangoz » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:20 pm

gtcse8 wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:10 pm
Hi Andrew
They should be the same, will check on MB 42 this afternoon and get back to you.
Mark
Thanks Mark - my broken chrome surround is around the electric window switches on the centre console. As a matter of fact - a further problem is that one of the window switches keeps trying to "squeeze" out of the bezel all the time. Would that problem be due to a damaged switch housing in addition to the obviously broken chrome surround?

I can't check at the moment as MB60 is in a local garage for some work to be done.

Cheers
Andrew


Andrew
MB60

gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 76 times

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by gtcse8 » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:59 pm

Andrew it could be both reasons, the New housings and Chrome housing/Nacelle could be cracked or broken.
I have found that Reliant fitters ground/filed the chrome housings to get a better fit on the plastic switch housings.

Obviously the headlight legend can be swapped over for which operation you require.
switch housing.jpg
switch housing.jpg (128.67 KiB) Viewed 208 times
switch housing 2.jpg
switch housing 2.jpg (109.23 KiB) Viewed 208 times
switch housing 1.jpg
switch housing 1.jpg (129.33 KiB) Viewed 208 times


See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Se5,Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s, GTC, SST 1800Ti & not a lot of sense

Djangoz
RSSOC Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:04 pm
Location: Cornwall
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

GTC Hazard Switch

Post by Djangoz » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:38 am

gtcse8 wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:59 pm
Andrew it could be both reasons, the New housings and Chrome housing/Nacelle could be cracked or broken.
I have found that Reliant fitters ground/filed the chrome housings to get a better fit on the plastic switch housings.

Obviously the headlight legend can be swapped over for which operation you require.
PM Sent Mark


Andrew
MB60

Post Reply

Return to “Se6/6a/6b/GTC”