A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

metalmoth
RSSOC Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by metalmoth » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:13 pm

Hi anyone done this on the cologne? Is it worth all the work?


1982 SE6b factory black aka The Beast


What could possibly go wrong?

IanC
RSSOC Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 6:17 pm
Location: Horncastle, Lincs
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 11 times

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by IanC » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:41 pm

I think AJL has done this on a GTC, I hope he'll be along shortly!
I'd be very interested in how this conversion is done.
Ian


Current : Scimitarless (probably not for long)
Past: SE5, SE5a x 3, GTC x 3, SE6, SE6a

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by AJL Electronics » Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:32 pm

Well worth while. It makes it into a nice understressed cruiser if done properly. Many converters can't be bothered to wire up the clutch and so the gearbox can't give its best. It will mate happily with the 2.8 and you will need an SE5a propshaft. You will also need a Scorpio shifter, if you use a Granny one as Middlebridge, you will need to cut the tunnel and lay in a 1" deep tray or the console will not fit. Don't be tempted to grind out a three speed shifter, it is a horrible bodge.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9311
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by peter freeman » Fri Mar 02, 2018 8:35 pm

I was told some time ago that it was fairly easy to do - as a ex auto GTC owner and a current auto MB owner I can say IMO it is well worth it



metalmoth
RSSOC Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by metalmoth » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:18 pm

Thanks for the info. I didn’t realise there were electrical considerations on them


1982 SE6b factory black aka The Beast


What could possibly go wrong?

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9311
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by peter freeman » Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:38 pm

The early 4 speed box does not have electrics to worry about apart from the start inhibits as per the 3 speed box



metalmoth
RSSOC Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: Basingstoke
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by metalmoth » Sat Mar 03, 2018 9:44 pm

Thanks that’s good to know


1982 SE6b factory black aka The Beast


What could possibly go wrong?

derekoss
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:37 pm
Been thanked: 13 times

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by derekoss » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:17 pm

The early boxes are also rather weak. The A4LD was improved almost annually ! There's been a Ford rebuild on fleabay for some time at around £350.

I'd consider it good value compared to rebuilding one.

Derek



User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:26 pm

peter freeman wrote:
Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:38 pm
The early 4 speed box does not have electrics to worry about apart from the start inhibits as per the 3 speed box
Yes it does. They all have the torque converter clutch. It's such a shame when people don't connect that up, it spoils it.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9311
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by peter freeman » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:45 am

Don't know if my car has the torque converter wired Andy or how to wire it if its not - no details in the manual and this is only my 2nd auto. Where would I look to check. The gearbox and converter were changed by the PO about 50k ago (at 250k on the clock ) gearbox was changed because of vibration which was found afterwards to be due to the converter. Not been under the car since I bought it but need to adjust the gearstick movement sometime as the reversing lights only come on with the gearstick at the front of its slot



User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23893
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 510 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by philhoward » Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:25 am

If it’s in your MB, then it’s ECU controlled (as it was in the Ford it cane from). I believe yours is an A4LDe (or is it the E version?) where the ECU does a lot of the work. I believe the early A4LD (no “e”) are all hydraulic (like a C3) apart from the 4th gear and torque converter lockup?


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9311
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 304 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by peter freeman » Mon Mar 05, 2018 6:55 am

Nothing on the wiring drawing that relates to the torque converter and only one connection on the ECU ( pin 21 ) which is brown/yellow and says it goes to the sst? - as yet to be identified what sst is - one day I will have to follow the wire to find out.



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35433
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 792 times

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by scimjim » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:29 am

It won’t be a wire to the torque converter, it’ll be a solenoid. Manual & auto 2.9i ECU are different. The detail is in AJLs conversion thread IIRC.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23893
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 510 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by philhoward » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:33 am

SST wouldn't be Speed Signal Transducer, per chance? EFi systems of that era tend to like to know what speed the car is going for the fuel overrun cutoff.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

A4LD into SE6b - is it worth doing?

Post by AJL Electronics » Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:33 am

From what I have seen so far, all Middlebridge have the first version of the A4LD fitted. This has a cable operated kickdown for identification. All of them are fitted with TCC and the socket for it is at the side of the gearbox, just before the kickdown actuator. It has two pins and contains a diode. The power is supplied to it via an ignition switched circuit and goes via a vaccum switch mounted on the bulkhead, look in the clutch master area for it.

The next iteration of the A4LD changes the cable kickdown for solenoid kickdown. That has two windings, fed from a delay relay. The TCC is exactly the same on this model. As yet I haven't seen a Middlebridge with one, but maybe in the later cars?

Next came the A4LDe which features electronic control of the 3/4 change. That can be identified by having three pins in the TCC socket. The A4LDE is all ECU controlled and would only be useable with a matching 2.9i from the same car. Identified by the shifter having snow and sport buttons.

Most gearboxes up to the e model were fitted with mechanical speed senders and the electronic sender was fitted later. It is possible to swap one for the other, but daft on the e and E because the ECU needs to know the speed.
Last edited by AJL Electronics on Mon Mar 05, 2018 9:38 am, edited 1 time in total.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

Post Reply

Return to “Se6/6a/6b/GTC”