2.9i Auto conversion - how to?

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

kennatt
Posts: 657
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 2:48 pm
Location: north east uk
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by kennatt » Sat Nov 29, 2014 9:30 am

One question is what are the gains,are there enough to justify the cost and work involved,seem to remember someone else had done this .



User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7382
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Nov 29, 2014 9:51 am

Oh the gains are many. It is one of the sweetest engines I have experienced, it has a worthwhile power increase over the 2.8 and the automatic gearbox features overdrive. Not too sure of the figures, but my guesstimate is 130 BHP from the Cologne and 150BHP from the 2.9i.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23892
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 510 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by philhoward » Sat Nov 29, 2014 9:56 am

I thought the 2.9i is supposed to be about 170? Splitting hairs though - many MB owners seem to achieve mid-30's mpg even from the auto which is something I suspect you will struggle to get from any 2.8 - ever.


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7382
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:00 am

I thought it was 170 Phil. It's in the workshop manual in some silly metricated manner. Means nothing to me! 110 Kw or some such nonsense.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7382
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:01 am

Final drive is 3.64:1 so I suppose a 6a axle is the better match.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35428
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 792 times

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by scimjim » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:25 am

Perhaps a thread title of "2.9i auto conversion" would be less confusing Andy?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35428
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 792 times

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by scimjim » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:27 am

kennatt wrote:One question is what are the gains,are there enough to justify the cost and work involved,seem to remember someone else had done this .
There have been dozens of GTEs & GTCs converted to 2.9i - none very well documented though.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7382
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:30 am

"2.9i auto conversion". Yep agreed. Is that a mod job please?


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
CNHSS1
RSSOC Member
Posts: 13818
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Has thanked: 211 times
Been thanked: 207 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by CNHSS1 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:38 am

2.9i is 170hp as quoted by ford, but tubular manifolds and better air filters often see more in a TVR, suspect MB/Scim would be same


Racing is life, everything before and after, is just waiting--Steve McQueen
6 time Class Champ, 2006 & 2014 SSSC Champion

RIP Batmobile, await the Rise of Dark Knight 8)
Sabre 'Light Sabre' 360hp!!
Image

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7382
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:39 am

IMG_1062.JPG
IMG_1062.JPG (108.02 KiB) Viewed 2576 times
IMG_1043.JPG
IMG_1043.JPG (136.53 KiB) Viewed 2576 times
IMG_1047.JPG
IMG_1047.JPG (129.52 KiB) Viewed 2576 times


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7382
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 203 times
Contact:

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:42 am

IMG_1046.JPG
IMG_1046.JPG (134.82 KiB) Viewed 2576 times
IMG_1044.JPG
IMG_1044.JPG (111.85 KiB) Viewed 2576 times


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35428
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 792 times

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by scimjim » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:44 am

I have a vague idea that the idle bypass valve is different (or mounted on an elbow) on the MB to allow the spare wheel to fit? But if that's a pic from the Haynes manual for the Ford, they look the same?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35428
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 792 times

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by scimjim » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:48 am

Also something about the AFM pipes being longer? Maybe Sierra ones?


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35428
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 792 times

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by scimjim » Sat Nov 29, 2014 10:57 am

pics of my 2.9i 5 speed GTC

Chassis #151
Image

Image


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

derekoss
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:37 pm
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Converting a GTC to Middlebridge spec - how to?

Post by derekoss » Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:01 am

Hi, having obtained several 2.9 Granada engine/boxes only the early ones seem to have had the bulky AFM.

Not sure which year they changed but later ones appear to use MAP. It was never an issue for me as I am using Megasquirt.

Derek



Post Reply

Return to “Se6/6a/6b/GTC”