How to make a link?

Problems logging in or posting pictures?
Can't register?
Not received your activation email?

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

Post Reply
User avatar
erikscimitardemon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:01 am
Location: Wierden, the Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

How to make a link?

Post by erikscimitardemon » Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:09 am

How to make a link?

Option 1 - copy and paste the url (link)
http://www.scimitar.demon.nl/RSSOC.NL/index.html
No need for further actions: the needed extra code will be made by the forum, but these won't show, not even in "edit" or "quote".

Option 2 - Click the <url button> edit the [ url ] by putting an '=' before the end bracket ']' and copy the link. Now you will get this:
[ url=http://www.scimitar.demon.nl/RSSOC.NL/index.html ]
Then type a short text on the link subject and click the <url button> again. Now you have this:
[ url=http://www.scimitar.demon.nl/RSSOC.NL/index.html ]this is the link[ /url ]

It shows on the forum like this: this is the link

That is a much neater solution. Especially sites with very long url's like Ebay make bad reading. With the Option 2 created link reading will be as good as any text.

(I put a faulty <spaces> around the [ and ] in the url tags, otherwise these do not show)


Erik Hofman
http://www.scimitar.demon.nl

Scimitarweb Webteam / Forum Administrator

User avatar
erikscimitardemon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:01 am
Location: Wierden, the Netherlands
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

Post by erikscimitardemon » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:49 am

To all,

Please when copying an Ebay link, do use the second option as described in the first post.
It is easy enough for non-tech-heads:
* Click the URL box
* Replace the ] for a =
* Paste the link and type a ] behind it
* Type a short description
* Click the URL box again and a readable, working link is ready 8)

Sometimes an ebay link contains a | This symbol does not work with this forum. Removing all linkcode from the | onwards will prevent a non-working link. (All things behind the | is optional)

erik: typos fixed
Last edited by erikscimitardemon on Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.


Erik Hofman
http://www.scimitar.demon.nl

Scimitarweb Webteam / Forum Administrator

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 34796
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 748 times

Post by scimjim » Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:17 am

and most importantly - preview the post before submitting :D


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19055
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 435 times

Post by Roger Pennington » Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:37 pm

Surely if fleabay links are troublesome, then it's much easier just to copy'n'paste the item number? Saves all the hassle!

cheers,

....Roger


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

User avatar
philhoward
RSSOC Member
Posts: 23555
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Staffs, UK
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 474 times
Contact:

Post by philhoward » Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:30 am

Roger Pennington wrote:Surely if fleabay links are troublesome, then it's much easier just to copy'n'paste the item number? Saves all the hassle!

cheers,

....Roger
For those of you using IE8 (Microsoft Internet Explorer v8), there is a little gadget called an "Accelerator" and you can add one for ebay - in this case, just click over the number to highlight it, right click, then select the ebay one (mine hides in "All Accelerators > Find product with ebay) - a new ebay window will open, and will automatically search for that item number..


Phil Howard
Scimitarweb Forum Admin
SS1 1600 Rooster Turbo; Sabre Mk1.5, Sabre Mk2
Previous: SE5/5a/SS1 No.1/SS1 Rooster/SS1 1800Ti/SE5a 24 Valve
http://www.ss1turbo.com
Never try and argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you based on experience.

User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 19055
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 435 times

How to make a link?

Post by Roger Pennington » Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:34 pm

I've just reviewed the earlier posts in this thread, and I think the changes to the forum since Erik posted his note (above) mean that there is now no need to press the "url" button twice, as described there. Instead follow the following sequence to create a short link:

Press the "url" button and you get:

[ url][/url ]

add an equals sign after the first "l" and paste in your url :

[ url=your copied url here][/url ]

then add the keyword(s) you want:

[ url=your copied url here]Here[/url ]

sometimes it doesn't come out with an underline (it's a bug I think), so I normally add that manually:

[ url=your copied url here][ u]Here[/u ][/url ]

and that's it! :D

(note in the above examples I've added a couple of extra spaces at each end to stop them working. )


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Issues & News”