Page 2 of 2

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:03 am
by Ian
I've rolled back all of the security improvement changes!

It appears that some combinations of browser/operating system are unable to handle modern secure connections. :cry: There is a whole :w revealed if you google the error message reported.

We will just have to live with a less than ideal security picture for the time being. I'll revisit it if I can find time in the future. Or is there a cyber security expert somewhere in the club and able to help :?:

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:02 am
by Coupe Racing
OK

I have checked my firewalls , and McAfee
I hove deleted my search and browsing history
Now I can access via an old Internet Explorer ( rarely ) and Google Chrome ( usual browser )

For assistance Ian , I am running XP on this HDD and Windows 7 on the other , however , I dont know if Windows 7 was a problem

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 5:53 pm
by Roger Pennington
Well, FWIW, I've got the latest version of Firefox (updated this morning). on W10, and it works fine (this reply was of course written and posted, using it). It does show a little amber warning triangle next to the https in the address bar, and if you click on the info button it warns about the "connection not being secure", but this doesn't prevent it being used as normal. :)

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:34 pm
by peter freeman
Since the security has been re-done in the last couple of days I still get the unsecured warning but I also have lost the memory of my login details so I have to put it in every time.

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:27 pm
by Oldconn
That's odd! That kept happening to me BEFORE the recent move, but since then I have not had to log in more than once.

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:03 pm
by ScimmyMike
Ian, just reinstalled firefox, no change I'm afraid but they put up https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... _passwords this if of any help, sorry not trying to tell granny how to suck eggs, just trying to help as I'm not getting the HTTPS or padlock when I log in as I do on works PC, both windows 10 with firefox51

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:51 pm
by Ian
The info in that link is part of the reason that I was making security changes. I would like to have the whole site served via https but when I did that I got reports that some combinations of operating system and browser would not display the site at all. That is why I rolled everything back to the previous situation.

Having said that, the site does now have a valid SSL certificate and it can be served via https if requested from the browser. It is up to the user to choose whether to use it or not because of the problems if I try to force it site wide. I don't have the time at present to make parts such as the login always be a https connection.

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:15 pm
by peter freeman
How do we connect via https with firefox - I'm not that good that I know how to do it without guidance.

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:26 pm
by peter freeman
Forget that request - Scimweb is my homepage and just added the S to the address and got back to the site without the error messages - I must be cleverer than I thought.

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:35 pm
by Ian
In the address bar towards the top of the browser window. Any full webpage address starts with the protocol, either http:// or https:// for the basic or the secure version respectively. The problem with Firefox and some others is that it hides the http:// part when the basic address is shown so the user tends to forget that the protocol is part of it.

[EDIT] too late for Peter, but the info may be of use to others

I need significantly more time than I have available at the moment to try to patch our old software to satisfy both security and accessibilty. I'm hoping that I will soon be able to upgrade to newer versions that take these matters into account better than previously.

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 6:59 pm
by peter freeman
If you are using Firefox then you probably have the club site listed in your bookmarks. Select the bookmark and properties - add the S then save - job done. Easy really.

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:55 pm
by ScimmyMike
peter freeman wrote:If you are using Firefox then you probably have the club site listed in your bookmarks. Select the bookmark and properties - add the S then save - job done. Easy really.
Tis exactly what I did and all find aside from Firefox not remembering and autofilling passwords now, will do work when back in orrifice tomorrow and see if that sorts out there also, thanks Peter

Re: Unable to view site using windows

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:02 pm
by peter freeman
I find mine remembers the password on the main page but not on notification pages - I can live with that.