The Doctors Coupe - SRE 353G

If you have a long-term project and would like to share/document progress, this is for you.

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

BigBobPilot
RSSOC Member

Post by BigBobPilot » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:40 pm

As some will have seen from the “For Sale” section, I’ve just bought a 4-owner Scimitar coupe - SRE 353G from Nick Hall. I picked it up this morning in the rain, as Nick & his wife waved good bye to it!

Then back home after the short journey:
20180428_105604.jpg
20180428_105604.jpg (179.06 KiB) Viewed 2425 times
First a little of my own personal history: I first knew this car through hill climbing with the RSSOC. While I was busy hacking & modifying my SE5 (YYX 697H) trying to make it lighter & faster. Trevor Shortt used to roll up in what I thought was an immaculate coupe, which I’d have been scared to compete in at the time; this is probably as I was a driver found the limit by stepping over it, any damage to a car that was clearly worth more than mine would have been off-putting. Whilst Trevor was the opposite, busy creeping up quietly, but effectively on the limit of the car / track. There were a number of events where Trevor started behind me, and kept getting a red flag & a re-run, as I’d had another incident. How reputations are made... I admired how clean & tidy Trevor’s coupe was and it never occurred to me at the time that at some point I would own this car!

Here, parked up next to my Jaguar XJR, which it’s going to replace, I've never quite clicked with the XJR in the year I've owned it.
20180428_122754.jpg
20180428_122754.jpg (212.72 KiB) Viewed 2425 times

Ben

SS1 CA18DET race car in build
Latest owner of V6 coupe SRE 353G
SSSC Champion 2009, driving "Big Bob"
CSCC "Swinging 60s" race series winner in 2011, 2014 & 2015 (Group 2) sharing a Marcos with Iain Daniels

BigBobPilot
RSSOC Member

Post by BigBobPilot » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:42 pm