5 /5a chassis

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

briankenyon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: pelsall westmidlands
Been thanked: 1 time

5 /5a chassis

Post by briankenyon » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:28 pm

Are there any differences between 5 / 5a chassi
Ie - width or length any thoughts would be appreciated.
Brian



User avatar
scimmy_man
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:07 pm
Location: selby yorkshire
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 31 times

5 /5a chassi

Post by scimmy_man » Fri Jun 08, 2018 10:42 pm

the crossmember under the sump changed from a tube to a flat plate when the later engine (rear sump) was fitted, also the engine mounts changed from bolt on to welded on,
in effect both are interchangable with a bit of fiddling.


I've taken a vow of poverty ...... Annoy me by sending me money!!

briankenyon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: pelsall westmidlands
Been thanked: 1 time

5 /5a chassis

Post by briankenyon » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:44 pm

Thankyou.👍👍
I've just lifted body off chassi (needs work)
I have a good chassi off a 5a and thinking I may use it may save a lot of time and beer tokens
20180608_194102.jpg
20180608_194102.jpg (152.91 KiB) Viewed 947 times
20180608_194102.jpg
20180608_194102.jpg (152.91 KiB) Viewed 947 times
Attachments
20180608_193322.jpg
20180608_193322.jpg (186.71 KiB) Viewed 947 times



User avatar
Oaksey
RSSOC Member
Posts: 5484
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:45 pm
Location: Cheshire
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 103 times
Contact:

5 /5a chassis

Post by Oaksey » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:57 pm

Personally, I'd make the 5 chassis good. It's always nicer to have a more original setup and it'll probably save time in the long run as you know that the body and chassis fit well :)


Josh Oakes
2015, 2016 and 2017 SSSC Champion
1974 Yellow Se5a Overdrive
1971 Blue Jaguar XJ6
1966 Blue Coupe Straight Six
Previous- Coupe S6,
SS1 Ti, E90 SS1 Ti, SE6a x3, SE5 Auto, SS1 CVH, Mk2 Sabre, Rebel Estate

briankenyon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: pelsall westmidlands
Been thanked: 1 time

5 /5a chassis

Post by briankenyon » Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:52 am

Hi.
The car was originally a auto
Bought the car with no gearbox,however a manual gearbox had been fitted (supported by household electrical wire hang from the bulkhead)
A replacement engine was also with car(Not fitted)and in bits so will need a rebuild. None original
My intentions are to covert to manual and fit a later engine, with the later chassi having the engine mount and cross member support in it's proper position
Thinking🤔wouldn't it be feasible to use the later chassi.
Or would I have problems fitting the body ??
Brian



efi_sprintgte
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1083
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Sutton, Surrey
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 52 times

5 /5a chassis

Post by efi_sprintgte » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:00 am

I’ve Known a few 5a shells with 5 chassis and wasn’t aware of any major dramas.

I’m aware you intend to do the reverse. Can’t see it being an issue, I would do what practically suits you best.

ID stays with the chassis of course...


JC

briankenyon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: pelsall westmidlands
Been thanked: 1 time

5 /5a chassis

Post by briankenyon » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:21 am

Hi.
Can't find any ID on the chassi 🤔
Does anyone reconize these electric connections??
20180610_090705.jpg
20180610_090705.jpg (167.98 KiB) Viewed 837 times
20180610_090705.jpg
20180610_090705.jpg (167.98 KiB) Viewed 837 times
Thanks brian
Attachments
20180610_090641.jpg
20180610_090641.jpg (166.6 KiB) Viewed 837 times



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35506
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 796 times

5 /5a chassis

Post by scimjim » Sun Jun 10, 2018 1:50 pm

Aftermarket plugs - looks like the chassis has been refurbished, so ID is either under all that nice paint or has been removed :W


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

briankenyon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: pelsall westmidlands
Been thanked: 1 time

5 /5a chassis

Post by briankenyon » Sun Jun 10, 2018 1:59 pm

Hi Jim
Stripped back some of the wiring and under investing it would seem extra cablefitted to original loom
20180610_122111.jpg
20180610_122111.jpg (214.08 KiB) Viewed 816 times
20180610_122111.jpg
20180610_122111.jpg (214.08 KiB) Viewed 816 times
Makes me wonder what for ??
Brian
Attachments
20180610_122024.jpg
20180610_122024.jpg (191.15 KiB) Viewed 816 times



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35506
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 796 times

5 /5a chassis

Post by scimjim » Sun Jun 10, 2018 2:45 pm

Looks like it was done well though? (On my phone, so can’t see in detail)


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

User avatar
Rattling
RSSOC Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: Warwickshire
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 9 times

5 /5a chassis

Post by Rattling » Sun Jun 10, 2018 4:14 pm

Just a guessing tow electrics ?


Colin

1800 Ti

gtcse8
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1304
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am
Location: Steeton, Yorkshire Dales
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 71 times

5 /5a chassis

Post by gtcse8 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 5:33 pm

Shame on you Jim, you should have noticed the Nato/Mod multi pin conector, especially when its resting on the wheel.
Quite obviously a replacement for the original rotted out Lucar plug socket for the rear electrics inc lights.

ID is stamped on the front of the turret OPPOSITE to the one in the pic with the spanner on it.


See the Beast on youtube under" RELIANT SCIMITAR CONVERSION LOL.,Se5,Se5a, Se6a, Two Se6b`s, GTC, SST 1800Ti & not a lot of sense

briankenyon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: pelsall westmidlands
Been thanked: 1 time

5 /5a chassis

Post by briankenyon » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:23 pm

Thanks for the info 👍👍
Brian



roymck
Posts: 583
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:33 pm
Location: Dorking Surrey
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

5 /5a chassis

Post by roymck » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:22 pm

I had a early pre 500 SE5 with a late 93X chassis under it , no problem



briankenyon
RSSOC Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:34 pm
Location: pelsall westmidlands
Been thanked: 1 time

5 /5a chassis

Post by briankenyon » Thu Jun 14, 2018 6:43 pm

Yes mate
Thanks for the info
Think I'm going to use this later chassi I have
Possibly save a lot of time and money
20180430_170049.jpg
20180430_170049.jpg (305.83 KiB) Viewed 630 times



Post Reply

Return to “Se5/5a”