Page 1 of 2

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:06 pm
by MikeyBikey
I currently have the 5a pedal box with remote servo.

I want to upgrade to a servo attached to the bulkhead aka modern machinery.

However the accelerator cable on my pedal box will foul any bulkhead servo as the cable comes out of the bulkhead between accelerator andclutch master cylinders

so which GTE model solved this and how

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:22 pm
by scimjim
None off the shelf - however, an SS1 pedal box may work?

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:55 pm
by MikeyBikey
ok, as ever thanks Jim :D

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:01 pm
by philhoward
Chris (Dark Star) fitted an SS1 pedal box to his Coupe bit that was to get a cable clutch. You can fit a hydraulic master cylinder to that pedal box (albeit backwards) - Craig’s Sabre has it. I did a mock-up and it’s feasible if using one from a Transit Connect (cheapest I found as it was a mock-up)

SE6 (not 6a) pedal box was fitted to Andrew Collins’ Coupe but it was “a struggle” apparently.

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:24 pm
by AndyKing
I've managed to fit a SE6a pedal box to my SE5, but it wasn't easy.

The pedal box needed a bit of modification and it's difficult getting enough clearance to the steering column. As you can see in the photos, the bulkhead needed major surgery. I can't say I'd recommend it unless you are feeling very determined.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (254.23 KiB) Viewed 1236 times
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (234.48 KiB) Viewed 1236 times

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:23 pm
by roymck
Nice bit of glass work there .

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:25 pm
by Roger Pennington
Unless I'm missing something about Mike's requirement, I would have thought the 6-series pedal box was the obvious solution? (assuming that it's not too large to fit in the footwell?). Presumably Andy's bulkhead mods are as much a result of the size and new position of the servo, as the pedal box itself, and are always going to be a challenge if you go that way? But it will enable you to convert to dual-circuit brakes?

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:35 pm
by scimjim
Roger Pennington wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:25 pm
assuming that it's not too large to fit in the footwell?
that’s the problem :D

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:09 am
by Roger Pennington
Ah! I was assuming that as you'd suggested an SS1as a possible, then an Se6a ought to have a fighting chance, as my impression has always been that the SS1 pedals are more widely-spaced than the Se6a's (though the SS1 lacks space to rest your foot left of the clutch).

Any integral-servo option is presumably going to need changes on the engine side of the bulkhead, because of the way the servo is positioned (IIRC didn't Chris use a waste-paper bin to mould it on Dark Star?). I may be wrong, but I'm guessing Mike's objective is to get dual-circuit brakes? In that case, presumably this is pointing towards a dual circuit remote servo as a better option?

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:56 am
by philhoward
This is Mikey logic - there may be a totally sensible reason why but then again this could be a sledgehammer and nut situation with a bit of bonkers thrown in for good measure. Remember this is the same guy who decides only a few days before Curborough to rip out his whole wiring loom and redesign it from scratch despite (by admission) being somewhat confused by electrics :mrgreen: :w 8)

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 11:39 am
by Roger Pennington
Yes, that's true..... :P

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 7:47 pm
by MikeyBikey
philhoward wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:56 am
This is Mikey logic - there may be a totally sensible reason why but then again this could be a sledgehammer and nut situation with a bit of bonkers thrown in for good measure. Remember this is the same guy who decides only a few days before Curborough to rip out his whole wiring loom and redesign it from scratch despite (by admission) being somewhat confused by electrics :mrgreen: :w 8)
:lol: :lol:

And the night before curbs drop the box and change the clutch.....

although that was necessity

cheers all. the ask was brought about with the scimega conversion that as almost complete. I'm a tad aware with potentially 220 - 250 bhp I might need a servo , because at the moment i dont....

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:15 pm
by Coupe Racing
I never used one with similar power
Better feel

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:33 pm
by MikeyBikey
Agreed but this will be my regular daily and I'm just thinking I might actually need to start braking....

I'm running fords at the mo and I must admit their brakes are good. Very well balanced. My wife runs vauxhalls and their brakes are horrific. Far too strong.

GTE Pedal Boxes

Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2019 9:43 pm
by philhoward
So what’s wrong with the original type servo? Even if you go dual circuit, you can get remote dual circuit servos..