Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Discuss and exchange views and technical information about our cars.

Moderators: scimjim, philhoward, erikscimitardemon, Roger Pennington, Lukeyboy46

Post Reply
Jpwill7675
RSSOC Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Dorchester, Dorset
Has thanked: 29 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Jpwill7675 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:38 pm

Hi - sorry if this is a daft question. My new acquisition has a noisy head. I checked the tappets which were ok. I did a compression check and one cylinder was very low. I took the heads off to reveal a loose valve seat. The head and the piston are coked up a bit but don't look damaged. However, there seems to be more play on the piston of the affected cylinder than the others. I guess it could be broken rings or at worst damage to the big end bearings?

Is it a big job to get the cylinder block off in situ or would i be better off taking the engine out of the chassis? The car is a rolling project so time is not an issue

Thanks for any advice.

Regards, Jim

PS . The engine was overhauled in 2001 with 20 thou rebore, mild road cam (might explain why the valve clearance seemed tight :oops: ) and unleaded valve seats. Its only done 13,000 miles since then
Attachments
IMG_3026.JPG
IMG_3026.JPG (399.01 KiB) Viewed 285 times
fullsizeoutput_811.jpeg
fullsizeoutput_811.jpeg (275.44 KiB) Viewed 285 times



rebel alliance
Posts: 648
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:20 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by rebel alliance » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:56 pm

If you remove the sump and undo the big end bearing cap , i don't see why you couldn't take the piston out the top..



Oldconn
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1499
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 1:09 pm
Location: Haute-Saône,France
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Oldconn » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:09 pm

It should be possible. After all, one would normally replace the pistons from the top. My guess is you will find a sloppy little-end -been there ! :D


"When I grow up, I want to be me"
-Kermit Weeks
Current: SE6A; 998 Mini.Previous: Morris Minor,Ford8, Cortinas Mk1 &2,MG Midget 1932,Morgan 3W 1934,Lagonda Rapier,Honda S800, Austin Maxi,Citroen GSA, Riley ElfMk2,Peugeot 505,Rover 420 SDI

efi_sprintgte
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1108
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 6:24 pm
Location: Sutton, Surrey
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by efi_sprintgte » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:13 pm

I’ve done it a few times, not normally through choice I might add

I tend to do that in situe at the “let’s asses what we’ve got here stage”


JC

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35663
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 813 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by scimjim » Tue Sep 18, 2018 8:39 pm

I’d pull the block and do the core plugs if they’re 17 years old and been sat a while? You can do things in situ but unless you have a lift, you’re going to spend half the time on your back under the car - in the long run it’s always easier to do things on the bench.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Jpwill7675
RSSOC Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Dorchester, Dorset
Has thanked: 29 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Jpwill7675 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:09 pm

Thanks Jim. I think I will take the whole engine out to get a good look at what I have. I can also check out the timing gear wheel. Are the core plugs an easy job ?



Jpwill7675
RSSOC Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:22 pm
Location: Dorchester, Dorset
Has thanked: 29 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by Jpwill7675 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:09 pm

Thanks for all the suggestions



User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 35663
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 813 times

Can I get a piston out with the engine in situ?

Post by scimjim » Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:10 pm

Core plugs are easy but the rear ones are inside the bellhousing and the front ones are behind the timing cover backplate.


Jim King

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), Sabre/MX5 auto (The Flying Broomstick),
1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

Post Reply

Return to “General Technical Discussion”