Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Discuss and exchange views and technical information about our cars.

Moderators: scimjim, Lukeyboy46, Roger Pennington, philhoward, erikscimitardemon

noel6071
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:58 pm
Location: Mayo, Ireland
Has thanked: 12 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by noel6071 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 1:27 am

Hello folks I eventually got my scimitar se5a running after it was off the road for a few years. The timing was out, I drained out the old fuel and put a drop of petrol in the carb at first to get it going but the only way she starts now is by adding a small drop of fuel to the carb it will start straight away then for a couple of hours but later on then a few hours after I have to add a small drop of fuel again to the carb. I have a small inline fuel filter that only slightly fills up I checked the manual fuel pump and it seems to be operating ok, is there any reason why it seems to be getting starved of fuel when trying to start it? It starts fine once the bit of fuel is added to the carb and will drive fine just starting to get annoying now having to constantly add fuel to it.



willholderogri
RSSOC Member
Posts: 1002
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:47 pm
Location: chippenham
Has thanked: 162 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by willholderogri » Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:21 am

You are setting the choke by pushing the throttle to the floor Before starting to. Set the choke flaps ? If so check the. Choke is actually closing


1962 mini, bedford CA , KR200. morris 1000, mini pickup.several escorts,ford grandad.ford cortina X2 ,astra, SE5A x 2 ,ford focus.

rkclodhopper
RSSOC Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 7:27 am
Location: Windy Hampshire
Been thanked: 18 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by rkclodhopper » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:20 am

If your car has the auto choke then doing what I say here might not be the best plan.
My 5a has had the manual choke conversion but I rarely use that to start the car, only when its really cold, in fact I rather it didn't fire too soon after I begin cranking too allow the engine oil pressure to come up.
So to start mine I crank it then when oil pressure is showing I dab the throttle a few times, doing that sends jets of neat fuel squirted directly into the choke by the accelerator pump, once it fires it only needs a couple more dabs of the pedal to keep it going, then let it warm up. If you look down the carb inlet while you open the throttle you can see the fuel being squirted in by the accelerator pump.
http://www.lcengineering.com/LCTechPages/pdf/38DGAS.pdf item 32,41 and 96 in this diagram.

Richard



landowner
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 5:00 pm
Location: Cheshire
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by landowner » Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:32 am

My similar problem is a small fuel weep in the line at the back near the tank, air must be getting in when its stood allowing the fuel to run back to the tank, its on the list of things to do when weather gets warmer :)




For all your engine requirements http://www.lymmengineparts.co.uk/ The people who know about engines

User avatar
scimjim
RSSOC Member
Posts: 38044
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:08 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 140 times
Been thanked: 995 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by scimjim » Sat Mar 31, 2018 9:41 am

Is the inline filter new? Have you overhauled the carb after it sat? I’d check float heights first as there should always be enough fuel in the carb to start the engine, even without a fuel pump.


Jim King

SECURE DRY STORAGE FOR YOUR SCIMITAR

Current: SE5 (8Ball), TI SS1 (snotty), 1600 SS1 (G97), 1600 SS1 (C686CCR), 2.5TD SE5a (diesel 5a), 6 x random other SS1s.
Previous: SE5, 3 x SE5a, 2 x SE6a, 3 x SE6b, GTC, 2.9i GTC, 3 x 1600 SS1, 1300 SS1, Mk1 Ti Sabre, Mk1.5 CVH Sabre
Chief mechanic for: 1400 K series SS1 (Megan3), 1400 CVH EFi SS1 (Grawpy), 1300 SS1 (Number One) & Sarah's coupe.
CURE THE FAULT - NOT THE SYMPTOMS

noel6071
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:58 pm
Location: Mayo, Ireland
Has thanked: 12 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by noel6071 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:09 pm

willholderogri wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:21 am
You are setting the choke by pushing the throttle to the floor Before starting to. Set the choke flaps ? If so check the. Choke is actually closing
I have a manual choke and she will only start if I add a small bit of fuel and have the choke on, the carb wasn't cleaned she was idle for a few years roughly 4 years, once its started the engine sounds good doesn't cut out drives fine, the inline filter was new but is a few years old would changing that make any difference? Would it be worth getting the carb cleaned? Thanks



User avatar
AJL Electronics
RSSOC Member
Posts: 7844
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Gloucester
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 241 times
Contact:

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by AJL Electronics » Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:41 pm

The rubber fuel line from the tank is perished.


Yes, we can mend your Scimitar!
Order your Scimitar parts any hour of the day at http://www.classicmicrocars.com (member's discounts).

Fancy a holiday in Gael, France? http://www.ianrhu.com

There is no point trying to teach a pig to sing. It doesn't work and it annoys the pig.

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9959
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 357 times
Contact:

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by peter freeman » Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:44 pm

Try pumping the throttle a few times prior to starting - same effect as putting petrol down its throat. I have a early carb on our Coupe and there is not a throttle pump so it needs a bit more help to start.



User avatar
Roger Pennington
RSSOC Member
Posts: 20112
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:43 pm
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 533 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by Roger Pennington » Sat Mar 31, 2018 7:33 pm

Many manual chokes (especially the conversion type) still need the couple of pumps on the throttle, just like an autochoke does.


....Roger

RSSOC member (since 1982)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Image

"Condition can be bought at any time; Originality, once lost, is gone forever" - Doug Nye

noel6071
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:58 pm
Location: Mayo, Ireland
Has thanked: 12 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by noel6071 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:06 pm

AJL Electronics wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:41 pm
The rubber fuel line from the tank is perished.
I will have to check the fuel line, there is fuel coming up but its only dripping into the inline filter so perhaps there is a blockage along the way will have to check that out, i'm assuming the inline filter should fill up fully mine won't fill up its just dripping into the filter.



User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9959
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 357 times
Contact:

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by peter freeman » Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:16 pm

Fitting a electric fuel pump may be the answer - if you put it in series with the mechanical pump and use a push button to run it you can use it to prime the carb - very handy especially if the car is not used every day.



User avatar
giddo
RSSOC Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:24 am
Location: Fordingbridge, Hampshire
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by giddo » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:53 pm

Peter, what type of electric fuel pump would you recommend ? I am thinking of fitting one but using it exclusivly, ie taking out the mechanical one.
The car is a GTC '84 and it starts perfectly at the first successful ignition but only after a lot of cranking after standing for a day or two.


Mike Giddens
The frog ? I live in a village called Frogham

User avatar
peter freeman
RSSOC Member
Posts: 9959
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Newcastle
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 357 times
Contact:

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by peter freeman » Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:14 am

I have fitted a SU in my Coupe as you can hear it click so you know when the carb is full. As long as the pump delivers the right pressure at the right flow level what you fit does not really matter - you get what you pay for. Don't forget you will need a inertia switch as well - as our MB has this type fitted I have gone with the same type for the Coupe.
http://www.classiclse.com/classic-model ... 2022l.html



User avatar
giddo
RSSOC Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:24 am
Location: Fordingbridge, Hampshire
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by giddo » Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:14 pm

Peter,
Your comments noted, thanks for the help. I've been looking at a Facet red top pump.
an Intertia switch is already in my shed ( We didnt worry about these things when I drove around in a MG TC with a ticking SU pump - as an aside the pump stopped once in Belgium but I got it working again by rubbing the contact on a nearby concrete lampost )


Mike Giddens
The frog ? I live in a village called Frogham

RonH
RSSOC Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:37 am
Location: Newcastle under Lyme
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Scimitar SE5a starting issues

Post by RonH » Sat Apr 07, 2018 8:17 am

peter freeman wrote:
Sat Mar 31, 2018 8:16 pm
Fitting a electric fuel pump may be the answer - if you put it in series with the mechanical pump and use a push button to run it you can use it to prime the carb - very handy especially if the car is not used every day.
Peter you mention fitting a su electric fuel pump. Looking on eBay at suction type fuel pumps they range in style and price from £80 to £125. Which type do you have?
RonH



Post Reply

Return to “General Technical Discussion”